Thread: Sponsorship

Default Sponsorship

I’ve heard for years that advertising can be a write off for companies but I’m not very familiar with the legal aspects.

Can someone point me in the right direction so that I may approach some local businesses and us that fact in my pitch?

If I need to move this to another area of the forum just let me know.

Thanks so much!

It's pretty simple any advertising a business does is an expense for that business.

Revenue minus expenses = net income

Note: If you pitch it to a company as "a write-off" you will probably be turned down because any business owner is going to know that already.

While, yes, advertising is a legitimate business expense and it is deductible be very careful if it's your business name on the car. I was a building contractor for many years and "sponsored" my own racing and my "advertising" costs for the operation were a nice deduction on my taxes.
    IRS likes to think Joe Racer just has a hobby but when I was audited one time and took in my records, including a long list of customers that were gotten from race tracks and fans, they agreed and I had no further problems with them. . Good thing 'cuz I sure didn't make any profit from the actual racing and the deductions covered a chunk of the costs.

Quote Originally Posted by over4T View Post
    While, yes, advertising is a legitimate business expense and it is deductible be very careful if it's your business name on the car. I was a building contractor for many years and "sponsored" my own racing and my "advertising" costs for the operation were a nice deduction on my taxes.
    IRS likes to think Joe Racer just has a hobby but when I was audited one time and took in my records, including a long list of customers that were gotten from race tracks and fans, they agreed and I had no further problems with them. . Good thing 'cuz I sure didn't make any profit from the actual racing and the deductions covered a chunk of the costs.