Default Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

Hey there

So, just dropping in to say Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

So I've been leading worship at my church now for the last 18 months or so, and Sunday December 20th was our Christmas Services. Little different this year because of social distancing, etc, but we did an acoustic set and closed with Silent Night after taking communion. And so I took a moment and talked about Christmas 1914 before we sang.

So the story is that both sides in WWI dug into the trenches with a no mans land between them, and men would be ordered to run across the no mans land and attack. Usually ending in a hail of gunfire and almost certain death. But on that first Christmas Eve in the trenches, one side managed to communicate to the other "we don't shoot, you don't shoot, agreed?" And they agreed to a Christmas truce. I'm pretty sure the powers above them that sent them off to war did not approve.

But anyway, on Christmas Day they emerged from their trenches and met in the middle. And they exchanged gifts, food, drinks, stories, showed each other pictures of their families and even managed to kick a soccer ball around and sing songs together.

And for that one day, they didn't see each other as an enemy, but as people. They didn't see the uniforms and the patches and the badges, or hear the accents, or focus on all their differences and why they were there to destroy each other. Instead they saw each other as God sees all of us: just people. And God knows how he made us all different, but he sent a Son, Jesus, to die for all of our sins. He made us different not so we would argue and fight over who was right, but so that we could all uniquely contribute to the kingdom of God, to fulfill a role only we can fulfill in God's plan.